Low Coolant Alert - Feedback Welcomed

Discussion in 'Automotive' started by Von Jones, Dec 11, 2023.

1. Von Jones

Von Jones Supreme Member
    Registered

I'm new to this particular alert message on the Jeep and I'm totally lost. I've researched YT and googled it but I'm still not confident about where I should add the coolant either to the radiator or the reservoir first. Second, because of the freezing temperatures lately I know that I need to jump start the Jeep, do I jump start it before adding the coolant?

2. Hedi Mitchell

Hedi Mitchell Supreme Member
    Registered

Have you looked up on U Tube?

3. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I think it depends on how old your vehicle is, where you add the coolant, @Von Jones . In the old cars, we always added it right into the radiator; but i think that now you are supposed to put it in the reservoir. Definitely make sure that the reservoir has the required amount, then start the Jeep, and be ready to add more coolant into the reservoir if the radiator sucks it all down.
    If this happens again, it would be time to have a mechanic see why it is leaking coolant, and from where.
    And keep a close eye on the temperature gauge !
    I agree with @Hedi Mitchell , definitely look on youtube.

Don Alaska likes this.
  4. John Brunner

John Brunner Senior Staff

What year and model Jeep do you have, Von?
    Did you buy the right type of coolant for your Jeep? (There are differences.)
    Do you have the owners manual? That would be the best source of info on the type of antifreeze and where/how to add coolant.

You should not add antifreeze/coolant unless the engine is cold. Your manual will tell you how to top it off and when to recheck it (engine hot or engine cold.) If you don't have the manual, you might be able to download one from the web. I can help you find one if you like, starting with Jeep's website.