United States Constitution - Signatures/signators

Discussion in 'Constitution & Bill of Rights' started by Ken Anderson, Feb 26, 2016.

  1. Ken Anderson

    Ken Anderson Greeter
    Moderator Registered

    Jan 21, 2015
    Likes Received:
    done in Convention by the Unanimous Consent of the States present the Seventeenth Day of September in the Year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and Eighty seven and of the Independence of the United States of America the Twelfth.

    In witness whereof

    We have hereunto subscribed our Names,

    G. Washington-Presidt. and deputy from Virginia

    New Hampshire: John Langdon, Nicholas Gilman

    Massachusetts: Nathaniel Gorham, Rufus King

    Connecticut: Wm: Saml. Johnson, Roger Sherman

    New York: Alexander Hamilton

    New Jersey: Wil: Livingston, David Brearly, Wm. Paterson, Jona: Dayton

    Pennsylvania: B. Franklin, Thomas Mifflin, Robt. Morris, Geo. Clymer, Thos. FitzSimons, Jared Ingersoll, James Wilson, Gouv Morris

    Delaware: Geo: Read, Gunning Bedford jun, John Dickinson, Richard Bassett, Jaco: Broom

    Maryland: James McHenry, Dan of St Thos. Jenifer, Danl Carroll

    Virginia: John Blair--, James Madison Jr.

    North Carolina: Wm. Blount, Richd. Dobbs Spaight, Hu Williamson

    South Carolina: J. Rutledge, Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, Charles Pinckney, Pierce Butler

    Georgia: William Few, Abr Baldwin

    Attest, WILLIAM JACKSON, Secretary.

    1. George Washington, Virginia *
    2. George Read, Delaware * ^
    3. Gunning Bedford, Jr., Delaware
    4. John Dickinson, Delaware +
    5. Richard Bassett, Delaware
    6. Jacob Broom, Delaware
    7. James McHenry, Maryland
    8. Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer, Maryland
    9. Daniel Carroll, Maryland +
    10. John Blair, Virginia
    11. James Madison, Jr., Virginia
    12. William Blount, North Carolina
    13. Richard Dobbs Spaight, North Carolina
    14. Hugh Williamson, North Carolina
    15. John Rutledge, South Carolina
    16. Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, South Carolina
    17. Charles Pinckney, South Carolina
    18. Pierce Butler, South Carolina
    19. William Few, Georgia
    20. Abraham Baldwin, Georgia
    21. John Langdon, New Hampshire
    22. Nicholas Gilman, New Hampshire
    23. Nathaniel Gorham, Massachusetts
    24. Rufus King, Massachusetts
    25. William Samuel Johnson, Connecticut
    26. Roger Sherman, Connecticut * ^ +
    27. Alexander Hamilton, New York
    28. William Livingston, New Jersey
    29. David Brearley, New Jersey
    30. William Paterson, New Jersey
    31. Jonathan Dayton, New Jersey
    32. Benjamin Franklin, Pennsylvania ^
    33. Thomas Mifflin Pennsylvania
    34. Robert Morris, Pennsylvania ^ +
    35. George Clymer, Pennsylvania ^
    36. Thomas FitzSimons, Pennsylvania
    37. Jared Ingersoll Pennsylvania
    38. James Wilson, Pennsylvania ^
    39. Gouverneur Morris, Pennsylvania +
    40. William Jackson (Secretary)

    * Signer of the Articles of Association
    ^ Signer of the Declaration of Independence
    + Signer of the Articles of Confederation

Share This Page