Surprised At How Little Savings Americans Have

Discussion in 'Money & Finances' started by Sheldon Scott, Oct 5, 2016.

1. Sheldon Scott

Sheldon Scott Supreme Member
    Registered

2. Ike Willis

Ike Willis Supreme Member
    Registered

All my savings is in my change jar. Maybe as much as $30.

3. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

Ive been saving change for 10 years, have no idea how much I have. :)

I have less and less change though because I've usually used my debit card.

Ike Willis likes this.
  4. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

We sometimes have money in the bank, but at other times we don't. We might get a contract that pays very well for a year, then things will dry up for a while. Being semi-retired, we don't hunt for work like we used to, although I suppose it would still be a good idea.

Diane Lane likes this.
  5. Sheldon Scott

Sheldon Scott Supreme Member
    Registered

My thinking was that most companies are now offering 401k plans so I would think most people with lobs would have some savings in their account. Plus a lot of the population is older retired people who don't spend as much as younger folks raising kids. They should have some savings. I remember well being young and raising kids, I can understand those in that category not having any savings.
    It seems Americans in general just don't save as much as folks in most other countries. Maybe we depend too much on the government to take care of us.

Frank Sanoica and Ike Willis like this.
  6. Marilyn Pahl

Marilyn Pahl Veteran Member
    Registered

Many grandparents are raising their grandchildren, and in most cases are babysitting them for nothing. For many seniors the golden years aren't so golden. The younger ones are holding only mediocre jobs. They miss out on the fun things with their kids. The seniors had a better affordable wage then their kids right now:(

7. Cody Fousnaugh