Quitting Smoking

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Richard Whiting, Mar 8, 2023.

1. Richard Whiting

Richard Whiting Very Well-Known Member
    Registered

After a stressful divorce in 1972, I've been smoking for 51 years, I have decided to quit... finally. It gradually crept up on me. I started out smoking (1972) maybe 1/2 pack per day, then up to a carton / week and finally 2+ packs/day. I'm quitting not so much for health reasons, but because of the outrageous cost.

I've tried to quit 3 or 4 times in the past by going "cold turkey". Once I tried hypnosis and it actually did help for a few days, but soon I was feeling like a nervous wreak. this time I'm going to use the "step down" method".

Early last week I was consuming 42-45 cigs/day with an occasional day of 50 cigs. Last Thursday, I set the upper limit of 42 cigs/day and I was smoking one cig every 21 minutes. I use a cooking timer. Yesterday, I smoked only 35 cigs.

I have noticed that IF I CAN STAY BUSY COOKING, WASHING DISHES, ETC. , I don't mind going passed 21 minutes. When that happens, and I start feeling a need, I just restart my timer and go on from there.

Tomorrow, I'll increase the time to 22 minutes. I figure that my body and mind will eventually get used to it without going crazy. Each week I'll increase the time between cigs.

I have set my quit day at August 31st.

2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered