Looking Back At My Many Jobs

Discussion in 'Jobs I Have Had' started by Sandy Wood, Feb 18, 2016.

1. Sandy Wood

Sandy Wood Veteran Member
    Registered

It is mind boggling as I started thinking about all the jobs I have held since I was in school. I started out as a school library worker continuing until I graduated. I babysit for several families. I worked in many food establishments as a dishwasher and then dinner cook, and finally a banquet chef. I also did cleaning at motels and laundry work at rest homes. After my divorce I worked on a regular farm. Then I moved to Florida, and worked on a wildlife farm, plus I looked for somewhere to work and decided to try my hand at a local packing house. I sorted vegetables for 3 days from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, with only short breaks. That job I quit as I did not enjoy driving 15 miles to my home that late at night.

So my next job was one I held for a longer time as I created it. I started a housecleaning service and did it for over 10 years until I was laid low by Fibromyalgia. The weakness was overwhelming and I was forced to apply for disability and fought for almost 7 years to get it. I hated having to quit working and I hated the illness for robbing me of my ability to work.

I returned home to Pennsylvania, and found myself with a family job of watching out for and caregiving full time for my mother. I did this for five years until she passed away last fall. So now I am looking for part time work to help me pay my bills and be independent from hand outs for as long as possible.

I guess in lots of ways I am praying for some guidance as where to begin. I live in a small town that has been hit hard by businesses going out of business or moving out of the country. Our town is filled with empty houses and people looking for work. Maybe I need to reinvent the wheel and create another job.

Any thoughts on this subject? Help me by telling me what job do you do now and did you need training to qualify for this job?