I've Had Many Jobs

Discussion in 'Jobs I Have Had' started by Bill Boggs, May 14, 2015.

1. Bill Boggs

Bill Boggs Supreme Member
    Registered

I started out working in Junior High years in the summer. I was a stocker in a large grocery store, then I worked as a dishwasher and all around cleanup guy at a cafe that had a sign opposite the counter. It read: If your wife can't cook, keep her for a pet, and eat here. One year I hopped a freight car and rode it two hundred and twenty-five miles with a hobo. I got off in New Mexico, found a job working with iterate migrant works from Mexico, jerking broomcorn, digging sweet potatoes, pulling cotton. I worked for Ben E. Keith. Since Growing up I have worked for Manufacturing Companies, Texas Electric Service Company, Halliburton, Gifford-Hill & Company, and a bolt and nut company. It hard to name much I haven't done.

2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

3. Josiah Page

Josiah Page Veteran Member
    Registered

I started baby sitting at age 14, usually the occupation for young girls, I was sought after because the father wouldn't have to drive me home late at night....I'd ride my bike. I caddied at a nearby country club the summers I was 15 and 16. Was promoted to life guard at the country club pool the summer I was 17. I drove a school bus in NYC when I was 18. Throughout college I washed dishes at a nearby woman's college...that was a great job. During graduate school I worked at the trade I learned in the Army - teletype repair. After graduate school I joined IBM and worked there until I was 40. The second half of my life I taught computer science at a community college and then my wife and I became antiquarian booksellers, a vocation I still follow.

4. Ina I. Wonder

Ina I. Wonder Supreme Member
    Registered