Hoerner-Waldorf

Discussion in 'Jobs I Have Had' started by Ken Anderson, Feb 17, 2015.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I moved to Southern California in 1971. After some time as an assistant manager of an apartment building, and as a tow truck driver, I went to work as a telephone solicitor for Trane Home Comfort Center. I absolutely hated that job so, in one of only a couple of times that I left one job without having another one in line, I was left without a job.

I went to ManPower, at temporary job placement company, and the first place they sent me to was a Hoerner-Waldorf bag plant in Fullerton. There were five of us from ManPower and they had us scraping and cleaning the floors around some of their bag machines that they weren't running on the graveyard shift, since they ran only a skeleton crew during the third shift.

The other four guys were the laziest people I have ever seen, and I was embarrassed to be seen with them. They would actually sit in the lunch room after the buzzer clearly signaled the end of a break, despite the fact that all of the regular employees were going back to work, staying there until someone came to get them. I went back to work when I was supposed to.

Hoerner-Waldorf bought out my contract after two weeks and hired me as a starting level employee, which was as a stacker, placing the finished bales of bags onto the pallets as they came out of the machine.

Before too long, an opening came up as a machine operator, and I applied for it. Although I wasn't particularly mechanically inclined, I learned that if the machine was running well when I got it, it would continue to run well as long as I kept it cleaned and oiled, and that if I paid close attention to any changes, such as a new noise, I could usually avoid any major problems.