Generalized Gender Stereotypes. Crafting

Discussion in 'Not Sure Where it Goes' started by Kitty Carmel, Jan 27, 2018.

1. Kitty Carmel

Kitty Carmel Veteran Member
    Registered

Not sure how to title this. I sometimes also watch knitting videos on You Tube. In my feed popped up some videos about men who knit so I watched several of them. There were also some videos about women teaching men to knit in prison. I have to wonder if any of them continued once released since it said this was a program for inmates close to release.

One man knitted in retirement and another started as therapy after a hand injury and he continued to knit.

I knew how to do the basic knit stitch since I was 7 or 8 and self taught myself more beginning in my 40's. It is relaxing (mistakes can be frustrating too at times) and I've often thought it's too bad more men don't do the crafts that some women do.

I know there are women who do more "masculine" hobbies and such and that may be more acceptable to some than a man doing a traditional woman's hobby.
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Chrissy Cross likes this.
  2. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

That was interesting! He's very talented also.

I don't think I've ever known a man that knitted but ...why not!

I do wonder if he's gay though probably because I am stereotyping.

3. Patsy Faye

Patsy Faye Supreme Member
    Registered

Don't see anything unusual here Kitty, men are wonderful tailors and cooks so why not knit me something nice :)

Terry Page and Chrissy Cross like this.
  4. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

True...my husband was better at sewing than I was.

5. Holly Saunders

Holly Saunders Supreme Member
    Registered