Exercise Trikes For Seniors

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Hal Pollner, Dec 12, 2018.

1. Hal Pollner

Hal Pollner Veteran Member
    Registered

HEY, I've been riding bicycles for 73 years, but at age 82, I don't feel as steady and stable as before.

I cant ride in a perfectly straight line, and it's beginning to feel like I felt in 1945, when I first started on a 2-wheeler...wobbly!

I'm looking online at several different makes and types of Trikes, and I even tried one yesterday.

It felt strange not being able to lean into the turns because of the 3-wheel footprint!

There are the conventional designs with 2 rear wheels, pedals and chain, and a steerable front wheel, just like a 2-wheeler.

Then there are the recumbent designs, with the front wheel being pedaled directly (no chain) and the rear wheels being steered by vertical "tillers" for each hand.

You're back is in about a 45 degree position, with your legs pumping forward. This gives the trike a very low center of gravity.

I'm going to try the recumbent next.

Here's a shot of the 2-wheel recumbent I used to have:

Hal
    401.jpg

Last edited: Dec 12, 2018
    Ken Anderson and Bill Boggs like this.
  2. Holly Saunders

Holly Saunders Supreme Member
    Registered

One of my nearby neighbours has ridden an adult trike for as long as I've known her, probably since her 20's. She simply doesn't have the balance for a 2 wheeler, and she rides that bike almost everywhere. Similar to this one which is a fold down model....

[​IMG]

Hedi Mitchell and Bill Boggs like this.
  3. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

Here's the one I want.
    Indian Trike - motorcycle-74.blogdpot.com (1).jpg

4. Beatrice Taylor

Beatrice Taylor Veteran Member
    Registered

My mother had one of these but she always had trouble finding a riding companion.

[​IMG]

This is more my speed!

5. Nancy Hart

Nancy Hart Veteran Member
    Registered