Thinking Back

Discussion in 'Places I Have Lived' started by Lilly Smith, Jul 27, 2015.

1. Lilly Smith

Lilly Smith Veteran Member
    Registered

I never really thought much about all the places I have lived, until just recently. I was born in a rural area of Pennsylvania to a family of 4 brothers, Mom and Dad. I lived in 2 homes there, the first built by my father after WWII. It was a one room previous barber shop that he bought and built on to and continued to build on to as his family grew. The second was a dream home for my mother that my father built for her on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley. I was 10 years old and sadly, the company my father worked for did not survive and he was force to make a move with his family. He had a friend who wanted to build a hotel in the Florida Keys, so off we went, all but one of us (my oldest brother had taken the plunge and married his high school sweetheart).

I lived on the Florida Keys until I graduated high school. I will not bore you with the reasons why, but I did marry young and started a life of moving around due to being a military spouse. I have lived in Alaska, Ohio, Florida, North Carolina, Kentucky, Texas, Sicily and a few more that just have not come to mind as yet. I have fond memories of them all, but I think the first 10 years were my favorite and the two homes my father built will forever make me yearn to go back. Back to when all of my brothers and I were under one roof with the love of two hard working parents.

2. Corie Henson

Corie Henson Veteran Member
    Registered

You've got a nice story there worth showing the young, granchildren maybe. I can imagine the little house on the prairie upon reading about your second house that was built on a hill overlooking a valley. It is like a place in a fairy tale. Maybe you had a wonderful time being a 10-year old playing in that place with green grass and fresh air.