Texas Southmost College

Discussion in 'Jobs I Have Had' started by Ken Anderson, Nov 26, 2015.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

When I completed my EMT-Paramedic course and was certified as a paramedic, I was asked to help teach other classes for Texas Southmost College. At first, I was helping Tom Scott, who was the program chairman of the EMT program at TSC at the time, then I began teaching my own classes through TSC.

Texas Southmost College was the first college in the Rio Grande Valley to offer emergency medical technology training.

At that time, the Texas Department of Health had no criteria or certification for EMS instructors of coordinators, so I was grandfathered in as an EMS Instructor and EMS Coordinator once they were established and, in fact, helped to develop the EMS Instructor certification requirements.

When I began working for the City of Los Fresnos this came in especially handy. As Los Fresnos EMS was primarily a volunteer service, the ability to hold classes right in town was a terrific recruitment tool, as well as a way of upgrading the certification levels of its volunteer personnel.

Although I taught a couple of classes on TSC's Brownsville campus, most of the courses that I taught were off-campus, the majority of them in Los Fresnos, but I also taught classes for neighboring ambulance services, such as Port Mansfield and Rio Hondo, since both of these communities were located some distance from the nearest campus offering EMT courses. Through TSC, I taught Emergency Care Attendant, Emergency Medical Technician-Basic, Emergency Medical Technician-Special Skills, and Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic courses. The EMT-SS certification was later changed to EMT-Intermediate.