Dreams Of Incompetence

Discussion in 'Dreams & Interpretations' started by Ken Anderson, Oct 21, 2015.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

Incompetence or confusion is a common theme in my dreams. Usually centered around things that I have done for a living during my life, and sometimes a mixture of careers.

Until I was in my thirties, I worked in factories, primarily paper bag plants, during which I worked for three different bag manufacturing companies. I was a machine adjuster and supervisor for the last six or seven of the twelve years that I worked in the paper bag industry. In real life, I was well aware that mechanical ability was not high among things that I could do well, but I came to know paper bag machines pretty well. Still, I did well mostly because I maintained the machines and didn't wait for something to break before making repairs. Once a machine became a wreck, I wasn't the best person they had to get it back in running condition again, but machines seldom crashed on my shift because I kept them clean and oiled, and I checked for things that might be going wrong before they went wrong.

In my dreams, however, I often find myself in a factory, but it's not usually a paper bag factory. People seem to know who I am, and appear to be glad to have me there, but I don't have a clue as to what I am supposed to be doing for a living. Instead, I wander around, chatting with people, and trying to figure out what my job is. Often, I don't even know which part of the plant I am supposed to be in, or I'm not completely sure that I work there, and I am afraid that someone will realize that I'm confused.