Doing My First Repainting Furniture Project

Discussion in 'Hobbies & Crafts' started by Denise Evans, Mar 6, 2016.

1. Denise Evans

Denise Evans Supreme Member
    Registered

and I do mean my first. I have a second-hand headboard/bookcase that is just fake wood. I think it's laminate. Anyway, I bought some, flat, white paint. Just finished covering it with that. Next I'll ad some color, but I haven't decided on flat or gloss (semi if I do gloss). I like the look of some things I see online which I'll post a pic of one of those. Then, I'll post a pic of the headboard I'm working on. Remember, I am just learning about all this, but I am having some fun with it. I want my place to really be filled with "my" ideas, no matter how weird it may turn out, LOL!

Hmm, after looking at some photos, I've changed my mind. I want the color to look solid, so I did paint white over the brown, and may even add one, more coat of that. Then, my final color. Not sure what that will be yet, but I am thinking a green. We'll see;) Here's a couple photos of colors I like, then my ugly-so-far, headboard;)

blue.jpg green.jpg

and here's what I am going to transform, me hopes;) into something pretty:)

old headboard.jpg

2. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I REALLY like your idea, Denise, and that kind of thing is "in vogue" again, it seems. Furniture seems to go in styles where it is being painted, and then the next one, it is all looking natural wood look again.
    I remember the old dressers that had been painted white, way back when I was a kid, and by then, the painted look was old, and people were buying them and removing the paint, and finding the old wood grain underneath again.