Best Exercise Bike For Seniors

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Hal Pollner, Sep 16, 2021.

1. Hal Pollner

Hal Pollner Veteran Member
    Registered

Peloton, Nordic Track, etc...which is good for seniors?

Hal

John Nopales likes this.
  2. John Nopales

John Nopales Well-Known Member
    Registered

I've been using a Concept2 Bikeerg every day for the last two years, and am currently riding and training for 100 minutes every morning. I like that it's easy to get on and off, it's extremely stable, has a good monitor that is precisely consistent, and they have online event rankings by age groups.

The seat and handlebar positions are fully adjustable vertically and horizontally. They also have a shorter length seat tube for shorter people, which also works for people over 6' tall. The only thing that can't be changed are the 170mm cranks, but I had mine drilled at 150mm.

Here's a review <-- from several years ago.

Last edited: Sep 16, 2021
    Yvonne Smith likes this.
  3. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

We have an exercise bike that we bought on Amazon, and it can be used either sitting like a bike, or standing up. Even though it looks easy to use, I can’t get on it without a lot of trouble and worry that I am going to tip it over with me. It is hard for me to step over the middle, and I have to use a step stool for reaching the seat, which makes it hard for me to balance getting on the bike.
    Once I am on the bike, I have to lean way forward to reach the handle bars, which also move as you ride, making my balance even worse. The seat is really tall, which is why I have to use a step stool to even get on the exercise bike.
    Because of this, I am not comfortable using it, and it mostly just sits there. Part of my problem is also because I am so short; because everything works fine for Bobby, who is over 6 feet tall and has really long arms and legs, where mine are very short.