A Sweeter Fun Era

Discussion in 'Other Reminiscences' started by Terry Coywin, Nov 9, 2020.

1. Terry Coywin

Terry Coywin Veteran Member
    Registered

With all the angst and hatred in the world today, I stated reminiscing about when I graduated elementary school and began high school in 1946. I was only 13 but since most of my classmates were older I was just as sophisticated having moved from NYC to far out suburbia. The war had ended and the music was still swing and hot jazz. All through high school I'd get a few friends together and drag them to NY on Saturday afternoons. We'd take the bus into the Port Authority and sneak into the back entrance of the Astor Hotel where one of the big bands was playing. I knew largely how to avoid getting caught as we were supposed to be 18 since they served liquor. We were not interested in that but the music. Other days we'd wander up to the metropole where big band leaders would be playing in the window in the front. There'd be tons of teens and service men returning from WWII dancing right on the side walk to the likes of Artie Shaw, Buddy Rich and a host of others. This went on for the 4 years I was in school and we had a great time. As we got older, we'd show ourselves in the Astor and waited until a sailor or soldier asked us to dance to Vincent Lopez, Jimmy or Tommy Dorsey or Benny Goodman among others. Never a fight or bad word exchanged among the many of us who descended on all the venues we could find. Good times and sad they've gone forever. My parents would have killed me had they known at 13 I began doing this, but you simply cannot take NY out of this girl although I segued into a Jersey one easily enough which is saying something.

2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

Good post.

Terry Coywin likes this.
  3. Terry Coywin

Registered