2nd Job Or Hobby That Paid You?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussions' started by Cody Fousnaugh, Jul 8, 2021.

1. Cody Fousnaugh

Cody Fousnaugh Supreme Member
    Registered

Did you ever had a second job, during the week, after your main job, or weekends if your first job was only weekdays?

For about two weeks, I worked as a Bouncer/Door Man for a nightclub I went to sometimes. I already had a 7AM to 3:30PM job and this other nightclub job was on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Friday and Saturday nights were ok to work, but Thursday night, leaving the Club at 2 or 2:30 Friday morning, ended up getting to me. I'd only get about 3 1/2 hours of sleep after getting back to my rented room and getting back up at 6AM to be to my regular job at 7AM. I ended up quitting.

A number of years later, I had a second job, actually was self-employed and more like a hobby than a job. The hobby/job was in rodeo on the weekends. I worked in manufacturing and had every weekend off. Depending on how good my team roping partner and I were, we'd make some weekend money at local rodeos or jackpots that we went to. It was definitely more fun that working as a Bouncer/Door Man at a nightclub!

So, during your working years, did you ever have a 2nd job for extra income or a hobby that paid you an extra income?

2. Lon Tanner

Lon Tanner Supreme Member
    Registered

One summer I worked 11 PM to 7 AM at a box and container factory and then went across the street and unloaded freight cars for Del Monte from 8AM to 4 PM

3. D'Ellyn Dottir

D'Ellyn Dottir Very Well-Known Member
    Registered

Adjunct teaching 1-3 courses per quarter was a second job when my full time work was private practice psychotherapy.

Frank Sanoica likes this.
  4. John Brunner

John Brunner Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I did piece work in the evenings for extra money for my employer.