10 Rules Of Thumb For Being A Paid, Non-fiction Freelance Writer

Discussion in 'Self Employment' started by George Lorenzo, Oct 28, 2018.

1. George Lorenzo

George Lorenzo Very Well-Known Member
    Registered

How to Possibly Become a Paid Non-fiction Freelancer:
    10 Rules of Thumb and the Unvarnished Truth from an Old Guy

I’ve been a freelance writer for about 30 years, and I can say without hesitation that most of what you read about pursuing this kind of career path is grossly inaccurate. The rapid growth of the Internet and social media have made paid freelance writing opportunities more confusing, overly sensationalistic, much less lucrative, and highly serendipitous. Plus, the number of freelance writers competing in the marketplace has increased dramatically in recent years.

In my estimation, there at least 10 rules of thumb that may or may not get you decent work as a freelancer. Note that I said, “may or may not.” There are no guarantees in the freelance writing business, and if you can’t accept frequent rejection, you should not be on this career path to begin with.

Here are my 10 rules of thumb along with some truthful notations, based on my experiences as an on-and-off full-time paid freelancer.

1. Build your web presence. Start a portfolio site that highlights your articles, or a blog, or both. A decent-looking website that showcases your work is mandatory in your quest to get assignments. There’s no guarantee this will get you work, no matter how professional your site looks and how great your work samples are, but it’s a must-have. Also make sure you get a free Google analytics account, so you can at least get some kind of handle on how many visitors you get.

Unvarnished truth: If you don’t have any connections in the publishing world, nor a large network of close friends and colleagues, don’t expect too many eyeballs, if any. Your mother might check it out, but even that is not guaranteed.