Would You Change Your Way Of Eating If It Gave You Better Health?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Yvonne Smith, Jul 15, 2018.

1. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

This is a subject that we have touched on several times in the health section of the forum. Some of us have already made changes in our lifestyle and diet, and others have said that they enjoy what they eat and would never change, no matter what it did for them.
    I started changing my diet after the heart procedure, because I felt like I actually had a chance to improve my health and my life if I would just take batter care of my body.
    I wanted my heart to have the very best chance of healing, so I started learning about anti-inflammatory foods, as well as the inflammatory foods, and gradually over the last few years, I have been slowly making diet and lifestyle changes.
    After reading a lot about a whole food, plant-based diet, and how it can not only improve your health now, but even help to undo some of the damage that was done to my body before from not taking good care of it, I am transitioning into a plant-based lifestyle.
    I still eat eggs and dairy, but limited amounts, and the whole change went much easier than I expected it to do.
    I really like it, and feel much better now, even though I expected that it would be hard for me to get used to not being an omnivore and eating meat every day.

I still eat basically the same kinds of foods that I have always enjoyed, I just prepare them differently now. Tacos are made with beans instead of beef, and if I use a tortilla, it will either be a flax/chia one, or whole wheat.
    My cheeseburger deluxe is now a “beanie-burger”, and (surprisingly) it tastes just as delicious to me as the old ones made with hamburger did.