What Impression Do You Think The Average American Gives To Others?

Discussion in 'Travel & Vacation' started by Lon Tanner, Aug 29, 2020.

1. Lon Tanner

Lon Tanner Supreme Member
    Registered

For Example---I posted my honest impression of the average New Zealander on a NZ Chat Forum when asked and the following is my impression.

Over the past 30 years that I have had face to face contact with New Zealanders both in the United States as well as New Zealand. I have found both male and female to be polite, considerate & kindly.
    I wish I could say the same for my fellow countrymen who I know present a far different impression.

Report Edit

Frank Sanoica likes this.
  2. Frank Sanoica

Frank Sanoica Supreme Member
    Registered

Haughtiness is easily found in the U.S., beyond a doubt. IMO, this stems from our great size, enormous natural resources, tightly-bound governmental control, and the historical fact that U.S. citizens were self-taught in many ways from the very beginning. One seeks little solace or help from another, if he or she became self-reliant of necessity.

Frank

Bobby Cole likes this.
  3. Beth Gallagher

Beth Gallagher Supreme Member
    Registered

I just spent a week in south Georgia. I have to say that southern people are still the kindest, most generous and caring of any I have met in the USA.

4. Shirley Martin

Shirley Martin Supreme Member
    Registered

That depends on where you go in the US, @Lon Tanner . I think most Americans are good people but in some areas, they are not. If they visited the ravaged cities, they might think that we are barbarous, murdering people.

5. Lon Tanner

Registered

I should have been more clear. By others I am thinking of foreigners in other countries and foreign tourists first visit to the U.S.

6. Beth Gallagher

Beth Gallagher Supreme Member
    Registered

I imagine that some visitors to the USA are disappointed that we are not like characters in major motion pictures.