What Do You Know About Prescription Anti-inflammatory Drugs

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Ina I. Wonder, Feb 20, 2017.

1. Ina I. Wonder

Ina I. Wonder Supreme Member
    Registered

My doctor put me on Meloxicam several months ago for my rheumatiod arthritis, but it doesn't seem to help. If anything it's getting worse. I'm thinking of stopping this prescription. What experiences have any of you had with anti-inflammatory drugs?

2. My father and grandmother had very very severe rheumatoid arthritis.
    It's not too much of a bother to me even at this stage in life, and I don't take anything.
    As I also worked in health care for a long time, what I'd say is "if you're not allergic to normal aspirin, toss out that crap and take aspirin."
    While side effects can occur from aspirin (especially if you use it frequently, or have other risk factors), the risks associated with this junk can be worse:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meloxicam

Frank Sanoica and Ina I. Wonder like this.
  3. Frank Sanoica

Frank Sanoica Supreme Member
    Registered

@Ina I. Wonder @Janice Martin As with most NSAIDs, this stuff causes gastric distress, leading to bleeding of the stomach lining, and possibly also the lining of the small intestine. Definitely not good. If it is not seeming to help, why keep taking it, given knowledge of these side effects?
    Frank

Ina I. Wonder likes this.
  4. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

We have not had good experiences with NSAID's at all, and we have only used it at OTC strength, taking acetaminophen or something similar. Bobby had such severe liver damage that he almost died from it a few years ago, and even though he was in terrible pain, and swollen up; the VA doctors told him that he could not take it at all ever again.