Today Is Aviation Maintenance Technician Day

Discussion in 'Gadgets & Tech Talk' started by Joe Riley, May 24, 2016.

1. Joe Riley

Joe Riley Supreme Member
    Registered

AVIATION MAINTENANCE TECHNICIAN DAY

On May 24 we honor the men and women who have worked behind the scenes making and keeping aviation possible. It is Aviation Maintenance Technician Day.

We all know the story of Orville and Wilbur Wright, Kitty Hawk and the experiment of human flight.

How many of us know the name Charles Edward Taylor? He came to work for the Wrights in 1902 when then experiment turned to powered flight. The automobile companies couldn’t supply an engine both light enough and powerful enough for flight.

[​IMG]

Enter Taylor. A machinist by trade, with a metal lathe, drill press and other hand tools, he built the 12-horse power engine which propelled the Wright’s plane 20 feet above the wind-swept North Carolina beach. The longest flight lasted 59 seconds for a distance of 852 feet. It took Taylor 6 weeks to build the engine and yet, history books rarely mention the man who helped make the historic December 17, 1902, flight possible.

2. Frank Sanoica

Frank Sanoica Supreme Member
    Registered

When considering those who operated right on the "fringe" of knowledge and predictability regarding their efforts, I can only marvel at their ingenuity and bravery.

Louis Slotin: Canadian-born Physicist experimenting at Los Alamos, instrumental in developing knowledge regarding how, why, and how much, Plutonium would be needed to construct a bomb, used gravity to drop a sub-critical hunk of it from ceiling-height through a hole in another sub-critical hunk, thereby for a tiny instant creating a burst of fission energy.