Sleeping

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Ken Anderson, Dec 17, 2017.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

For most of my life, I have slept only about 4-6 hours a night, or day, since I often worked the graveyard shift. While I was a paramedic, I was up and down all day and night, sleeping whenever I could between calls. After I retired from EMS, I went back to sleeping about maybe 5-6 hours a night, but at night rather than during the day.

Recently, I have been sleeping 8-10, and sometimes even more hours a day. I think it might have something to do with my lack of a thyroid. I have no problem staying up at night and am not particularly tired when I go to bed at midnight or one o'clock in the morning, but I get sleepy almost immediately after going to bed, and then I don't want to get up in the morning.

Bobby Cole and Holly Saunders like this.
  2. Babs Hunt

Babs Hunt Supreme Member
    Registered

It might have something to do with the medication you take for having no thyroid @Ken Anderson.

3. Steve North

Steve North Supreme Member
    Registered

Ken..
    When we were in business, we owned a few video rental shops.. We opened up at noon and closed at 2:am and this went on for 7 years.. We became night owls then, and today we are still night owls..
    We go to bed around 2:00am to 3:00am and don't get out of bed till almost noon, if not later.. That is about 9 or more hours of sleep.. We have been doing this since I retired in 1997..

The fact you sleep for 9 hours a night isn't that unusual as we do it all the time..
    Medication, maybe but if your body needs the sleep, it will get it..

4. Ken Anderson