Scrutinizing Student Loan Debt

Discussion in 'Education & Learning' started by Frank Sanoica, Jun 30, 2019.

1. Frank Sanoica

Frank Sanoica Supreme Member
    Registered

This came as a real shock; I think it's horrible, seemingly impossible. Current student debt exceeds the total combined U.S. debt of credit cards and auto loans! 1.6 Trillion Dollars; $1,600,000,000,000. That's ONE MILLION SIX-HUNDRED MILLIONS!

Going to college has indeed become exceedingly expensive. The year I graduated from University of Nevada, 1976, my tuition cost was $15 per credit-hour. LOOK AT THIS:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Don Alaska

Don Alaska Supreme Member
    Task Force Registered

One trillion six hundred billion, right? It is seen as the next bubble in the economy. What do you expect when the government took it over?

Bobby Cole likes this.
  3. Nancy Hart

Nancy Hart Veteran Member
    Registered

Interesting how much less the public colleges and universities cost, than the private.

Rene Descartes likes this.
  4. Don Alaska

Task Force Registered

One of my daughters attended a private school, while her sister attend a public university. The cost of the private school was much more than the private, but the girl who went to the private graduated in 4 years, while her sister at the public university took six to complete a similar course of study. The daughter who went to the private discovered that anyone who graduated had the loans arranged through the school converted to grants. She came out owing much less than her sister. Of course, the Clinton Administration outlawed the system of grants shortly after she graduated, so that couldn't happen now.

Frank Sanoica and Bobby Cole like this.
  5. Nancy Hart

Registered