Patty Hearst

Discussion in 'Other Reminiscences' started by Kitty Carmel, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Kitty Carmel

Kitty Carmel Veteran Member
    Registered

I remember the kidnapping but with no detail. CNN is running a series and I watched the first two episodes. I know Jeffrey Toobin wrote a book which I'm sure was extensively researched but I don't like his writing style.

I learned many things from the first two episodes on CNN that I didn't know. They are also interviewing Patty Hearst's former fiancé who was there when she was kidnapped and a former SLA member who comes across as just arrogant. No one from the actual Hearst family participated in this special it said.

Do you think she had Stockholm Syndrome? Certainly I am no professional on this but I always thought she did. She was young but not naive. I'm not 100% sure but I think it's possible.

I looked her up on Google and read her husband passed away a few years ago but she seemed to live a rather quiet and stable life once out of jail.

2. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

I always thought she was guilty but this was a long time ago, haven't revisited the story in a long time.

Have you ever been to the Hearst Castle?

3. Kitty Carmel

Registered

@Chrissy Cross I haven't. Have you. Years ago both my brothers went.

Chrissy Cross likes this.
  4. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

No, I haven't but my daughter keeps saying we should go once. :)

Her sister in law was there and liked it.

5. Babs Hunt

Babs Hunt Supreme Member
    Registered

When I first heard about Patty Hearst and what had happened to her I wasn't really sure if I believed everything that was said either. But I did realize at that time that if I had been put in that situation I would probably have done whatever I had to do to stay alive too.