Our Alphabet

Discussion in 'Evolution of Language' started by Corie Henson, Aug 18, 2015.

1. Corie Henson

Corie Henson Veteran Member
    Registered

Our local alphabet is composed of these letters...

a, b, k, d, e, g, h, i, l, m, n, nga, o, p, r, s, t, u, w, y

That made our language simple with the pronunciation because all we had to think of was the T or the P since we do not have the TH sound or the F or the V and any other letters that can make life harder for our mouth.

However, there was a change in the alphabet lately and I am lost. They say that the 20 words are now 25 with the inclusion of the letters F, V and some others that escape my mind for now. The Filipinos are confused particularly those already out of school like me. It's really true that you can be left behind by the times.

2. Pat Baker

Pat Baker Supreme Member
    Registered

English is a hard language to learn to non English speaking people because of the vowels, when I studied Spanish I learned how hard it is for some people to learn to speak English. Trying to not get left behind by the times is a hard job, trying to stay current with the tech on computers and cell phones is something I spend a lot of time on, I will never learn all the things my smartphone can do.

Corie Henson likes this.
  3. Tom Locke

Tom Locke Veteran Member
    Registered

One of the many problems of the English language is that we do not use accents. It's very hard for anybody to know how they should pronounce words without accents. Addle rhymes with paddle, but not with waddle. The 'l' in should is silent, but not in shoulder. There are millions of other examples.