Music & Memories Of Fordlandia

Discussion in 'Other Reminiscences' started by Terry Page, Mar 30, 2016.

1. Terry Page

Terry Page Supreme Member
    Registered

I have been listening to Icelandic music of various genres for a few years now, and one particular neoclassical composer Johann Johannsson I really like, he composed the soundtrack for the recent movie "The Theory Of Everything"

He released a concept album called "Fordlandia" in 2008 which I adore, but until a few days ago I didn't realise it was inspired by Henry Ford's failed rubber production project in Brazil. I guess most Americans will already be aware of the story, but it was new to me and I found it fascinating

Welcome to Fordlandia, Henry Ford's lost city deep in the Amazon rainforest which was abandoned as a monumental failure
    • The relic of the Ford empire was part of automaker's vision to create his own rubber plant to feed his Michigan factories in the 1920s
    • Ford negotiated a deal with the Brazilian government for 3,900 square miles of land on the banks of the Rio Tapajós and named it Fordlandia
    • The idea was to recreate American suburbia but workers complained about the homes which let in bugs unlike their traditional stilt houses
    • The Brazilian workers were unhappy about attending square dances and did not like the rules on women drinking
    • Ford abandoned the plant when rubber trees would not grow
    Article here

A track from the album

A short video about the project

3.jpg

1.JPG
    2.jpg
    4.jpg

5.jpg
    6.jpg

Chrissy Cross and Bonnie Thomas like this.
  2. Bonnie Thomas

Bonnie Thomas Veteran Member
    Registered

The Amazon Rainforest. Everything about it has always fascinated me, but the future sounds bleak from things I've read. ... troubling times ahead for sure.

The Disappearing Rainforests