Low Carb Zucchini Hummus

Discussion in 'Recipes' started by Yvonne Smith, Apr 6, 2017.

1. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I found this recipe for making hummus from zucchini squash, and I love hummus; so I decided to try it. I found the yellow squash on sale and thought that would add a nicer color than the green zucchini does, so I made my hummus with that.
    It is easy to make, just add everything into the food processor and blend until it is smooth. I like a little mayo in my hummus, and so I added a couple spoons of that in with everything else, It turned out great, and I think that I will like this as well as i do the regular hummus made with garbanzo beans.
    Now I am trying a batch of flax-meal crackers to go with the hummus. They have basically no carbs and LOTS of fiber, plus the Omega 3 oil. I have never tried making crackers before, but here is the recipe for those, too, incase anyone else wants to try making some of these.
    http://www.food.com/recipe/garlic-parmesan-flax-seed-crackers-low-carb-267501?ftab=reviews

IMG_0412.JPG

Chrissy Cross likes this.
  2. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

That sounds good, I love hummus. My daughter has a good friend who makes some low carb flaxseed crackers and those are delicious. She'll sometimes make some for my daughter and I just happened to Ben there the last time she did...yummy.

Would this hummus be lower calorie than the one made with garbanzo beans?

Yvonne Smith likes this.
  3. Yvonne Smith

Yes, It should be lower calorie, too, because summer squash (green or yellow) is lower calorie than any of the dry beans like garbanzo beans. By the time you add the garlic and cumin, it gives it almost the same smell and taste of regular hummus. You can adjust the amount of spices and salt that you add to please what tastes good to you.