Help With My Roses!

Discussion in 'Crops & Gardens' started by Lilly Smith, Jul 27, 2015.

1. Lilly Smith

Lilly Smith Veteran Member
    Registered

I bought a cute little house a couple of years ago that has a picket fence surrounded by rose bushes! I believe them to be knock-outs and American roses, but of course I am new to this, so not really sure. The first year they seemed to do well. I pruned them back and they came in quite well. The second year they came back but soon started to get brown spots all over the leaves and the blooms didn't stay on long, but fell off after blooming. I have used commercial type additives that was recommended by a web-site I saw on line, but they still look pretty rough to me. Any ideas out there for maybe home remedies? Thanks so much!!

2. Ina I. Wonder

Ina I. Wonder Supreme Member
    Registered

@Lilly Smith, hello and welcome to our small forum.
    That happened to my roses this year as well, and they had the same symptoms as your's. But those same symptoms can apply to several conditions. I live just NE of Houston, Texas, and we had one of the worst rain seasons in our history. So I know my roses were totally drowned. They were under water for weeks at a time. Approximately what part of the world do you live in, and what were the weather conditions?

Ken Anderson likes this.
  3. Lilly Smith

Lilly Smith Veteran Member
    Registered

Hi there Ina! I live in Southern Middle Tennessee and yes, we did have a lot of rain earlier this year....do you think that could be the problem? We are not having unheard of HEAT as well! Poor flowers don't know what to do!!

4. Ina I. Wonder

Registered