Have Any Of You Been Receiving Any Phone Calls About Your Computer?

Discussion in 'Gadgets & Tech Talk' started by Babs Hunt, Jun 1, 2017.

1. Babs Hunt

Babs Hunt Supreme Member
    Registered

Though it doesn't happen often I am receiving some phone calls saying something like this: "I am a Windows tech and I believe I am talking to the owner of your computer? I just received another one of these call a few minutes ago. My usual response is just to hang up after these first few sentences, although if I remember right I did say a few things to the caller one time, something like: "If you are a real Windows tech who knows something about my computer then you will know who you are speaking to. Since you don't, I have nothing else to say to you except goodbye. "

I just wondered if anyone else has received any calls like this and if so what was your response. It seems to me that if there is something going on with my computer...my computer will alert me through my email address and no one will call my cell phone number. There are so many scams now days going on...I figure this is one in some way too.

2. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

Yes, get them a lot. I tell them I don't have a computer but they just continue with their speel...that's when I hang up.

I don't know if they still call because I quit answering my home phone. Everyone that's important has my cell phone number and that's where they call.

Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  3. Kate Ellery

Kate Ellery Supreme Member
    Registered

They are scams babs ,along with the taxation department ,Centrelink ( welfare payments ) Medicare they are all after your personal details to scam you ....or in the computer scam ,they change your computer settings ( telling you what to,do while you are on the phone with them ) it then gives them access to it ,, then they demand a huge payment to fix it ( I've heard it's about $600 in Australia )