Gibiru

Discussion in 'Gadgets & Tech Talk' started by Ken Anderson, Mar 28, 2019.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

Gibiru is a search engine that is promoted as being a private, uncensored, search engine. Supposedly, it's been around since 2009, and I see that it had been mentioned in this thread, but I missed it and had never heard of it until a few days ago. As far as I can tell so far, it seems to be an actual search engine rather than a metasearch, like Startpage and DuckDuckGo, the difference being that a search engine has its own bots (spiders) and its own index of content, while a metasearch engine simply add a different filter to Bing or Google results.

I am trying it for the first time today, but the results look good. I haven't decided whether I like it better than Bing yet but it seems to be just as good, anyhow. I know I like it better than Google, which sucks. Given that, I search for a living, every day of the week, I will soon know which I like best. Given that I earn Amazon gift cards through Bing searches, I'll have to like it a lot better than Bing before I would switch to it full time, however.

I don't like that it has a domain name that is difficult to remember, but then Startpage began as Ixquick.

gibiru.png

Joe Riley likes this.
  2. Al Amoling

Al Amoling Veteran Member
    Registered

I tried it on something that I'd searched for the other day using DuckDuckGo. It didn't find it in the first 20 results. DuckDuckGo got it in the first ten.

3. Hedi Mitchell

Hedi Mitchell Supreme Member
    Registered

Ok call me stupid...but what excatly makes a bad or good search engine? I mean you look up something..you get various answers to chose from . Please explain.

Frank Sanoica likes this.
  4. Beth Gallagher

Beth Gallagher Supreme Member
    Registered