Do You Believe You Ever Experienced Agism At Work?

Discussion in 'Jobs I Have Had' started by Kitty Carmel, Dec 28, 2017.

1. Kitty Carmel

Kitty Carmel Veteran Member
    Registered

I think I am. I won't get into details but this job I have been at since late June, I feel like I'm treated like an idiot. I had to go in yesterday on my day of for a mandatory meeting. I'm still mad today and left there wanting to cry. Every time I said something this younger snit had an quick terse answer back. When I was addressing the question to the medical records woman who was giving the in-service. This same snot later said "well I've only been a nurse since April" in response to something she said she didn't know about. And I thought "and yeah I've been doing this for over 25 years and you treat me like I'm an idiot"

I get sick and tired of people saying things to me like I'm an idiot. I rarely respond and I'm sure they feel very smug thinking they got the last word with me. But anyone who treats me like I'm dumb is a real fool. I may not say anything and I let most things go by but if they only knew what I'm thinking. I wouldn't have a job honestly.

Holly Saunders likes this.
  2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I was seeing some of that in EMS before I left the field. Even officially, the Texas Department of Health would introduce new programs referring to the old way of doing things, and those who did them that way, as dinosaurs. Well, for the most part, older paramedics were just as eager to learn something new as the younger ones were, and a fair amount of continuing education was required anyhow, yet the emphasis would be on training new medics to do things differently, thus separating younger medics from older ones rather than simply introducing new procedures.