Cooking Disaster Experience

Discussion in 'Food & Drinks' started by Corie Henson, May 29, 2016.

1. Corie Henson

Corie Henson Veteran Member
    Registered

Do you still remember your bad cooking experience?

My first try in cooking was when we moved to a rented apartment with nothing but the bed. After buying cheap kitchen utensils, I took the challenge of cooking, not being honest to my husband that I was a newbie in the kitchen. My husband's hands were full in fixing and cleaning the house so I did not hear any objection.

And as the usual story goes, the rice was burned. Almost a quarter of the rice was stuck in the pot's bottom. And the taste of the rice? Don't ask. To match the rice, we had fresh fish from the market. It was toasted on the outside and the inside was not not cooked. To make the story short, we had boiled eggs for our first lunch in the apartment. It was really embarrassing and I was sure glad that my husband did not divorce me for that, hahahaaah.

Frank Sanoica and Yvonne Smith like this.
  2. Frank Sanoica

Frank Sanoica Supreme Member
    Registered

@Corie Henson

Not my own experience, but my Mother's: quick-preparation of beans in a pressure cooker, clogged pressure relief port allowed safety port to blow out: we had beans all over our ceiling!

3. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

Never had any real bad cooking experiences but my family might say differently. I could usually fix a disaster into something halfway edible. :)

I do remember my first meal that I cooked for my husband. It was pork chops, peas and mashed potatoes.

I never cooked prior to that but my mom and grandmother were excellent cooks and I knew what good food tasted like and kind of how to make it, just didn't have the hands on experience.