Childhood Language Remembrances

Discussion in 'Other Reminiscences' started by Frank Sanoica, Aug 23, 2018.

1. Frank Sanoica

Frank Sanoica Supreme Member
    Registered

Years after the fact, I recognized the existence in our home amongst my Dad and Mother, signs of three languages being lightly utilized. My Mother, born in Bohemia, learned English, very well, beginning at 5, upon arrival here. My Dad, born in Chicago, undoubtedly experienced a heavy amount of Czech at home, until the arrival at age two of his brother, Charlie, then at 4, sister Sylvia was born, he then by six was likely pretty English-savvy, and using it in conversing with brother and sister. My Grandpa, a tailor by trade, probably had a majority clientele of Czechs, so picked up English meagerly, and slowly.

Now and then, my Dad would demand, "Get me the "shroab-ziegel", to complete some task. (pronounced "shrobe-tsee-gel". Studying German in High School years later, I learned the correct German word for "screwdriver": Shraubentzier. Note the similarity to the Czech-bastardized word: many were like that, almost German-sounding, but adequately different to satisfy the anti-German Czech attitude; my family greatly disliked the Germans.

My grandparents expressed shock and dissatisfaction when they learned I took German in H.S. so deeply did they despise Germany. Yet, my maternal grandma used a number of "Czech" words that could only have come from the German: "trick-tyeesh", twisted Czech for "trichter", a funnel.