Cancer

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Ken Anderson, Apr 17, 2015.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer a few years ago. I opted to go with radiation therapy rather than surgery, as I wasn't considered a candidate for some of the other options. But, radiation therapy was not exactly problem free as it seems to be for some people.

The cancer was found as a result of regular lab testing. I was asymptomatic until the radiation therapy, but have had several problems since, including trouble sitting down, which is troublesome since that's pretty much what I do for a living.

I won't go through all of that now, though. What I wanted to talk about was the lasting fear that probably accompanies any type of cancer, which is that it will reoccur. Every six months, I go in for lab work, and by that time I will have persuaded myself that I have cancer again.

Every new pain or sensation that I get is attributed to cancer and, at sixty-three, these things do happen. Of course, my wife tries to reassure me that it isn't and has, thus far, been right, but still it's not an unreasonable fear because most people who get cancer eventually die of cancer, or at least a large percentage of them, which varies depending on the type of cancer. As I am getting older, something is going to kill me eventually, and there's a pretty good chance that it will be cancer.

Once I am tested, and learn that my PSA was fine, I am reassured for a couple of weeks, and then I begin worrying again.

This is on my mind because today was the day that I went in for my most recent PSA, and it came out fine. Now I'm worried that they'll find something during a colonoscopy that I am scheduled for next month.

2. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff