Beggars

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussions' started by Corie Henson, Aug 26, 2015.

1. Corie Henson

Corie Henson Veteran Member
    Registered

What is your take on beggars? I used to be compassionate with beggars. When I was a student, I would save some coins so I could give alms to the beggars in the churchyard or in the street corner. When I got a job, the more I would give to them. However, my husband had influenced me to change my stance on the issue.

He had seen a documentary program in the largest tv network where a blind beggar was interviewed. He was earning 400 pesos in one day so he could afford to buy cigarettes and even alcoholic drinks. He was invited by the social welfare department to join the handicraft program but he would earn only 50 pesos in a day's work. And to think that my husband was only earning half of that 400 per day, huh.

Krissttina Isobe likes this.
  2. Joe Riley

Joe Riley Supreme Member
    Registered

I guess beggars CAN be choosy!? We can't judge them all as fakers.

Last edited: Aug 26, 2015
  3. Cody Fousnaugh

Cody Fousnaugh Supreme Member
    Registered

At one time, I was homeless, but never done any begging. I lived in a small pickup truck in the parking lot of a church, along with a number of other homeless folks staying at the church. In between a small UI check every two weeks and the church helping me out with some food, I was ok and got back on my feet. After talking to some other homeless folks some, now I did say the word "some" want to be homeless and be "beggars".

We have donated food, during the holidays, to church organizations that give the food to "people in need", but as far as outright giving money to a beggar............nope, isn't going to happen! When asked for money by them, I simply say "sorry, don't have it" and then try to get away from that person fast.

Corie Henson and Sheldon Scott like this.
  4. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff