Antiwar Protests

Discussion in 'Other Reminiscences' started by Ken Anderson, Aug 19, 2016.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

After graduating from high school, I spent a year and a half or so hitchhiking around the country, going through most of the lower 48 states, with the exception of some of the ones that scared me, like Mississippi and Alabama.

I also took part in several antiwar protests during this time. Actually, even before I graduated from high school, as I was at the Democratic Convention protests in 1968, although I was arrested shortly after arriving in Chicago, so it's probably fairer to say that I had traveled to Chicago with the intention of taking part in the antiwar protests but was arrested while waiting for a crossing light within a half hour or so of arriving in Chicago, and shut up in a cell with people who looked like murderers until my father came to get me. He wasn't pleased, since Chicago is about four hundred miles away.

In all, I was detained thirty-four times during antiwar protests, although I was actually charged only once, and that with criminal trespass. Oddly enough, that time I had just returned to Menominee, Michigan from California to find a large crowd of people at the Menominee Marina. Since I had an apartment that overlooked the Marina, I could hardly miss it.

I walked down to see what was going on, and found some friends who told me that it was an antiwar protest, and that this was the second day of it. It was strange to find so many people coming out for an antiwar protest in Menominee, since the city was hardly a bastion of radical politics.

We were hardly raging against the machine holding signs and shouting epithets. Rather, we were sitting on the lawn catching up on things when the police came and told me I was being arrested for inciting a riot and criminal trespass.