A Liar Must Have Good Memory

Discussion in 'Faith & Religion' started by Avigail David, Jun 9, 2015.

1. Avigail David

Avigail David Veteran Member
    Registered

I've heard, learned, and taught this principle to myself and my pupils since I was a young teacher.

I had spectacularly good memory back then in my teens. But, conniving, meditating a lie and planning another lie to cover up the first one scared the wits out of me at the start of considering any lie. Of course, I was always found out -- I chose confession at the start... almost. My sour-graping, "I don't care , anyway if I didn't have it" was a bad excuse, too.

This yiddish wisdom does carry timeless and tested truth. I am now teaching it to my children and, thankfully, I seem to have the knack for knowing what and how to ask them before they figure out another one to cover up. They always get this cheeky grin on their faces when I demand an eye-to-eye conversation with them.

A-ha!

2. Hannah Davis

Hannah Davis Veteran Member
    Registered

You know this is very true. I didn't understand what you were referring to at first when you made the header that liars need good memories. Then when you explained that it has to do with keeping their story straight i was like they have a valid point. This is how you can usually catch a person in a lie, because they can't remember the whole story they originally gave. I tihnk this is why the police tend to question a suspect more then once asking the same questons just in case they are lying to see if they will keep their story straight. Usually if they are lying they do slip up.

Avigail David likes this.
  3. Pat Baker

Pat Baker Supreme Member
    Registered